The International Technology In Education Award (ITEA) gives recognition to educators and support staff for their personal proficiency and development in using ICT in the classroom.

This is achieved through an internationally accepted certification programme which is freely available as part of the OER Commons initiative.

Everyone supporting learning can benefit from ITEA accreditation:

  • Teachers and Support Staff can demonstrate how they are using - or planning to use technology to engage learners in a range of subjects and preparing them for digital life.
  • Industry Trainers and Staff Developers can demonstrate that they are using technology to benefit staff and measure the impact of learning and improved productivity.
  • Technology and Network Support Professionals can gain accreditation by developing and maintaining systems and support structures for effective learning to take place.
  • Managers, Mentors, Coaches and Facilitators can demonstrate how they are supporting others in their own learning journey and through strategic planning.


The ITEA award is achieved by working through units that are constantly updated to remain both relevant and effective in the ever changing pedagogical landscape.

The ITEA Framework and Units are freely available to use under the Open Educational Resources Creative Commons initiative.

ITEA Units are additionally mapped to International Standards such as UNESCO, Intel and ISTE NETS. In the UK they can support a wide range of qualifications and accreditations including Apprenticeships, and Masters Degrees.

ITEA can be acheived at any level, from level 3 (Diploma/GCSE) to 7 (Post Graduate/Masters)

If you are are interested in working towards ITEA accreditation or in delivering ITEA, please register your interest by completing the registration form.

Additional ITEA projects include:

Supporting the Learner Journey - a CPD framework designed specifically for the professional development of anyone supporting people who are endeavouring to learn in any setting and context.

There are 14 units that include generic needs, for example roles and responsibilities, initial assessment and safeguarding.

Other units focus on strategies for supporting people with specific difficulties such as mental health issues, sensory impairment, physical difficulties and those on the Autistic spectrum.

Strategies to Support Blind and Partially Sighted Learners into Employment - This project is an extension to the CPD Framework Supporting the Learner Journey for learning support practitioners. The four units comprising this module specialise in providing knowledge and skills to staff who are supporting learners with visual impairment as well as providing information, advice and guidance to learners who are progressing into employment.

Units Include:

  • Implications for Visual Impairment
  • Mobility
  • Roles and Responsibilities
  • Advice and Guidance

For more information about these projects, please visit the 'Supporting the Learner Journey' website by clicking here: